Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Russian Metal!
Metal Area - Extreme Music Portal > Offtopic Area / Кроме тяжёлой музыки > Smoking room
BuckSatanII
I've been listening to metal for about 30 years and I'm pretty sure I don't know a single metal band from Russia. Now, I guess this is because Russia has never produced a great metal band? But this seems ridiculous, because Russia is an enormous country with a very big population and Russia has always contributed massively to all other forms of artistic expression and culture. I mean, when I think about it I think TaTu and Pussycat Dolls (or whatever Putin's girlfriends are called) are the only Russian artists of *any* genre that I know. Maybe I've just been living under the rock of Western Civilisation where Russia is an outlier.

So, maybe you guys can tell me the absolute best Russian metal bands of all time and just tell me if they are power metal because I'm not really into power metal at all (and my internet searches tell me that power metal is the biggest genre in RU).

I got most of my information from this URL, but really I'd rather you guys tell me the truth. https://www.last.fm/tag/russian+metal/artists

Cheers!
Kazoth
What genres of metal are you interested in?
Necrodictator
Scald (Epic Doom)
Aspid (Technical Thrash)
CMFL
ЦИТАТА(BuckSatanII @ Feb 27 2021, 12:43:52) *
Russia is an enormous country with a very big population and Russia has always contributed massively to all other forms of artistic expression and culture. I mean, when I think about it I think TaTu and Pussycat Dolls (or whatever Putin's girlfriends are called) are the only Russian artists of *any* genre that I know. Maybe I've just been living under the rock of Western Civilisation where Russia is an outlier.

I've been thinking about this recently, here's my two cents.